I Thought This Would Be Harder

My husband is still out of the country, but will be back in a couple of days.  I have to admit I thought that it would be pretty hard having him gone for a week.  I am finding out, however, that I rock.  I do rock!  Being on my own with Jack for six days truthfully has not been hard.  Please if you know Dan do not repeat this.  He needs to think that I have suffered horribly this week and that each day was more painful than the next and that I cried myself to sleep every night wishing he were there.

In reality, this week has flown by and Jack and I are having a blast.  Don’t get me wrong, I do miss Dan terribly.  I don’t enjoy spending every evening alone and our bedroom is a pretty lonely place with just the geriatric cat and I sharing the bed.  But man, Jack and I are having fun!  I think I definitely over-planned our week to make sure that I properly tired Jack out, but I am loving my over-planning.  We have been so busy.  Here’s a quick rundown of what we’ve been up to:

  • Playing with friends
  • Multiple trips to the playground
  • Trip to Children’s Museum of Manhattan
  • A couple of trips to Barnes & Nobles
  • Finger Painting
  • Regular Painting
  • Trip to Curly Girl’s place to hang out with the new baby. Aaahhhh.
  • Art class
  • Long walks through Fort Tryon Park
  • Smelling flowers and bird watching in Fort Tryon Park
  • Trip to the Queens Farm to pet cows and goats
  • Visit to Grandma’s school to hang out with the kids and paint rocks
  • Visit to Blond Mama’s place to feel the babies kick.  So cool.
  • Brunch with Curly Girl and new baby
  • Playing in sprinklers at the playground with new friends
  • Digging for worms in Fort Tryon Park

OK.  I am exhausted just typing all of that.  I’m not saying that I’m lazy while Dan is home, but I do not keep up the same level of activity that I have this week.  I have to say that all my hard work has paid off and that Jack is going to bed so easily and he is sleeping through the night, something he does not do when Dan is home.  I wonder if he will go back to waking up at random times in the middle of the night when Dan gets back on Monday.  God I hope not.  I am so freakin rested I could run a marathon.  Well….I could think about running a marathon.  Actually, I could watch others run a marathon on t.v. while I snack out on Hershey Kisses and popcorn while laying on the couch.

As the end of our time alone together approaches I feel myself winding down and wanting to stay close to home.  I think I am done driving all over the place.  I just want to chill and sleep late or at least stay in my pj’s a little longer.  Tomorrow is our last day without Dan and we’ll probably spend it making Welcome Home signs and other cheesy things like that. Maybe a trip to the sprinklers will have to be in order as well.  I’d like to say that I did some wild things with my time after Jack was put to bed, but I didn’t.  I ate uninteresting dinners and fell asleep in front of the t.v..  I read books and spent way too much time online.  I played a lot and got lots of vitamin D.  I thought about Dan a lot and wished that he were home.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Thought This Would Be Harder

  1. meg

    What a great week!!!

Leave a Reply

