Jeanie and the Bumble Bee

There it hovered behind the sheer Cow Jumped Over the Moon curtains.
It’s buzz was strong and meaningful.
It’s wings were beating with determination.

It turned mid-hover and buzzed a buzz heard throughout the city streets.
It looked me in the eyes and beat it’s wings even harder

I ran.
I slammed the door behind me.
I ran.
I ran into the kitchen.

I took a deep breath.
I had to think.
What do I do?

I grabbed a sauce pan and lid.
I ran back to the Bee.
I was too scared to move the curtain.
The pan suddenly seemed too big.

The Bee buzzed.
I ran.
I slammed the door behind me.
I ran.
I ran into the bathroom.

I grabbed a bottle of Fantastic.
I ran back to the Bee.
I felt guilty.
I couldn’t spray the poor Bee.

The Bee buzzed again.
I ran.
I slammed the door behind me.
I ran.
I ran into the hallway.

I grabbed the fly swatter.
I ran back to the Bee.
I really felt guilty.
I couldn’t smack the poor Bee.

The Bee buzzed.
I sat down on the bed.
I looked at the Bee.
The Bee looked at me.
It buzzed again louder this time.

The Bee just wanted to leave.
I just wanted the Bee to leave.
We telepathically shared these thoughts.
I felt we understood each other.

The Bee flew to the top of the window.
I calmly opened the window and screen.
The Bee flew down and out of the open window.
I swear I saw it wave good-bye.

I closed the window.
I was thankful that I didn’t hurt the poor Bee.
I guess I am finally getting over my phobia.
Have a good Spring Bumble Bee!!

Peace.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jeanie and the Bumble Bee

  1. Patty

    Sometimes our journey to understand another beings point of view is a complicated one. Congrats on finally overcoming your fear of
    “The BEE”!!
    (I’m sure he told other bees how cool you were)

  2. Thanks! I am really trying not to pass on my phobia to Jack. I want him to be brave and love the bees.

Leave a Reply

