I Just Want Some Grass That Hasn’t Been Peed On

Is that too much too ask? While at the park today I started thinking about how much I was looking forward to our weekly playgroup that is held at a church with a fenced in grass yard. The reason: It is pee free.

Like most places in NYC dogs are free to pee wherever they want. There is a leash law here and dogs are free to be off the leash from 6am to 9am in parks like Central Park, Riverside Park, etc… We also have many dog runs where dogs are able to be off the leash and pee and poop to their hearts content.

I know that this post is making me seem like I am annoyed at dogs for peeing. I’m not. I’m the biggest dog lover ever. Anyone who knows me will attest to this. I just wish for a little grass that hasn’t been peed on.

I would love to be able to lay on the grass with my son and confidently put my head down without having the grass have a distinct smell of dog pee. I would like to be able to take my shoes off and run through the grass without stepping in a wet patch that I know isn’t water or skidding in a pile of poo. Yes. This has happened.

I love NYC, but I can’t help wish sometimes for a patch of grass that was mine. A clean, fresh smelling patch of grass. For now I count myself lucky that we have this awesome church down the block that is generous enough to host playgroups that allow the neighborhood little ones to play on their grass and even tear it up in the summertime with sprinklers, pools, and slip and slides. It’s nice to know that I won’t slip and slide in dog poo.

Leave a comment

Filed under dogs, grass, NYC, pee, playgroups, slip and slides, sprinklers

Leave a Reply

