Hi. I’m Jack. Hi. I’m Jack too.

And just like that they were instant friends. It was as if they had known each other forever instead of mere seconds. How did they do that?

It was a quiet afternoon in Barnes & Nobles today and Jack and I stopped in to play with the train table and play on the stage. After playing hide and seek on the stage for a couple of minutes Jack discovered Jack. He was a little taller and a little older and was as interested in my Jack as my Jack was in him.

The friendship was fast and in a matter of seconds they were off to play with the trains. I introduced myself to Jack’s mom Maria and we quickly began finding similarities between our sons. There were many similarities and many differences as well, but we were the only ones that noticed them. One thing that was strikingly similar was how friendly both boys were and how nicely they shared trains and books and laughs.

As Maria and I talked I noticed that we too had some things in common. We are both SAHM’s. We are both interested in working from home and having a hard time finding our way. We are both head over heels in love with our son’s and we both named them Jack. I’m sure if we had spent more time together I could have found more similarities and probably more than a few differences and I found myself wondering if we could actually be friends.

The Jack’s spent an hour together playing and reading and then we all shared a really nice lunch together. And just like that it was over. Maria and I threw away the garbage and went about putting our kid’s coats on. We said really nice good-bye’s, the boys hugged and both Maria and I agreed that we had a really nice time and then we went our separate ways.

As I walked out of Barnes & Nobles with a very sleepy Jack I felt like I had when I was younger and had just met a great guy at a bar and then left without exchanging phone numbers. I wanted to ask Maria if she wanted to get the boys together again, but I didn’t want to seem too pushy. Maybe she felt the same way. Next time I will be bolder and make the first move. What do I have to lose?

I look back at all of the friends I made before having a baby and remember the ease in which I slid into those relationships. I wish it were still that easy and sometimes it is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Barnes and Noble Jack, friends, relationships

Leave a Reply

