I’m Not Home Right Now. Please Leave a Message and…

I won’t get back to you. It’s true. I won’t. Well, not right away anyway. I don’t check my voicemail messages. I don’t check my answering machine messages. I really never have. Even during the pre-cell phone days. I would see the flashing light and acknowledge it, but never press play. That’s how it is now with my cell phone. I know perfectly well that I have messages. My phone is constantly reminding me. I just don’t have any urge to check them, so I don’t. It’s nothing against you. It’s not like I don’t like you or what you have to say. It’s just that I seem to have this problem taking the time to dial my voicemail and listen to your message. Most of my friends know this about me. They know not to even bother leaving a message. If you really want me to respond texting me seems to be your best option.
When I am available I almost always answer my phone. I don’t avoid picking up. I am not one of those people. I am just one of those other people who don’t listen to any of their messages. Sure, I have missed out on important information because of this, but even that has not motivated me to check them. I’m not sure anything will really.
What I really should do is change my outgoing message to say, “Hi I can’t answer my phone right now please don’t bother leaving your name or your number because I most likely will never listen to your message. Thanks for calling.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

